Puppy Projects

AKA Crafts that expose my unhealthy obsession with my dog…

Anytime I see a pet DIY I feel overly compelled to attempt it. Such is the case with the following…

1. Bowie Pillow:

Image

Not to brag or anything, but I’m pretty sure I have the cutest puppy on the planet. And no, I’m not remotely biased.

Anyways, I saw this post from Yellow Brick Home and had to make one of my Bowie.

Image

Kim, of YBH, is infinitely more talented than I am and even has her own online shop of custom pet portraits (here)…but I digress.

I still thought I’d give it a whirl. It really helped that she’s based out of Chicago and I was in Chicago visiting home (she recommends a local printing place, Strange Cargo, leading me to believe that as long as I had that option, the rest would be very possible).

I followed her instructions step by step so I recommend doing the same.

Image

Here it is before I cut, sewed, and stuffed it.

That being said, I’ll share what I learned during my feeble attempt:

1. Pick a light canvas – I think it came out too dark

2. Make the image lighter than you think.

3. Make it bigger than you think you need to. Strange Cargo said that was the biggest they could print it but hers looks so much better. I suspect I did something wrong.

 4. Trace closely to the photo outline. I was scared I wouldn’t have enough white space but instead the border just wound up looking a bit uneven.

5. Use a sewing machine. I don’t have one but after about three minutes (and 5 finger jabs) I certainly wished I did.

Overall though, I’m happy with the result and OBSESSED with the fabric I picked for the back. Overall (including the printing) the whole thing cost $17.

Image

I took that picture of him on his first birthday so I thought maybe I’ll make it a tradition and make a pillow each year. We’ll see…

Image

2. Bowie Silhouettes

I am utterly obsessed with Carter Kustera portraits and, using my amateur graphic design skills, decided to DIY them. I simply pulled an image of Bowie into Illustrator, traced it with the pen tool and filled it in.

sillhouettes4

I then took the file to Kinkos (or FedEx Office — whatever they’re calling it these days) and had them printed on 11 x 17 glossy card stock. I ordered frames from Amazon and that was really it.

IMG_9897

I haven’t hung them up yet because I think I’m moving soon and don’t want to put holes in my wall but there they are. I think they’re kind of cute!

Also, if these tributes weren’t enough, my dad got me this custom portrait for Christmas from Danger Dogs:

IMG_9898

It’s a great project that supports local artists in Nepal. Check them out!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Puppy Projects

Leave a Reply

